If YOU CAN LAUGH, YOU CAN SING! IF YOU CAN SING, YOU CAN HEAL!

This is worth reposting!

Lauren Lane Powell

Grandmama’s Waltz Click to hear SONG

ImageMy beautiful, wonderful Grandmama made her transition 15 years ago today.

She was 87. I am so grateful to have been so close to her. Therein lies the story, her story, our story.

As a fine artist and art teacher she raised my dad as a single parent long before it was “popular.” She had a hard life and wore it on her sleeve. I grew up knowing her to be very judgmental, unforgiving and hyper critical. As much as she loved life and appreciated the beauty of everything around her, she seemed to dislike people in general. When she did hug me, it was cold and prickly. She didn’t understand me at all as I grew into a young woman and held a grudge as if it were a trophy.

All of that changed when I moved to Sarasota, Florida at 20 years…

View original post 595 more words

Comments on: "" (1)

  1. I thought she would live to be 100. She was so vibrant and full of life. My Mother, Peg, “Grandmama”, was volunteer of the month at St. Paul’s Congregate living in South Bend, IN, the month she died. She was a strong and self-sufficient single Mom when I was young. When she finally allowed me to hold a door open for her, a graceful acceptance of my help, I was a grown man with a family of my own. My daughter, Lauren, taught us both about hugging. I felt that Mom was allowing us to love her and in turn we felt loved. Thanks for the memories Lauren

Leave a Reply

